Objective

The objective of this tutorial is to help you understand how to create, update or delete recurring shift for your staff.

Overview

Access from your: Computer
Applies to: Managers, Supervisors, Schedulers and Employees with Scheduler Permission

Create a recurring shift for your staff and breaks will be auto-assigned to the shift due to the break rule if settings are enabled and you have assigned the break rule next to the location where the shift is created.

A recurring shift can be updated/modified anytime later when a change is required. You can change start/end time and date, notes, title, breaks or employee assignment and a lot more.

If the recurring shifts are not according to your business requirement simply delete a set of series from the schedule to update it.

Things to know before you begin:

  1. You must have a Manager/Admin, Supervisor, Scheduler or Employee with Scheduler permission access privileges to create, update or delete recurring shift.
  2. You can navigate the schedule to different dates by clicking the arrows found at top mid of the app.
  3. You can navigate the schedule to different views by selecting the timeline views.

The scenario outlined in this tutorial consists of the following building blocks:

  1. Create Recurring Shift
  2. Update Recurring Shift
  3. Delete Recurring Shift

Create Recurring Shift

Step 1: Click 'ShiftPlanning' tab from the top-panel, select the filter from the left-hand side as per your business need and create a new shift or go to your shift of interest and click on it to open the shift edit window as shown in Image 1.

Image 1

Step 2: Click ‘Repeat Options ‘ as shown in Image 2.

Image 2

Step 3: Click ‘Select Frequency’ drop-down menu and choose the frequency to create the recurring series as shown in Image 3.

Image 3

Note: In this article, the custom cycle is selected to create a recurring series; however, you can select any other type/frequency according to your business requirement.
For more information about different types of recurring series, go to ‘Types of Recurring Series.’

Step 4: Select ending date until you want the shift to be repeated under 'Until' field as shown in Image 4.

Image 4

Step 5: Select either ‘Shift Time Only’ or ‘With Employees’ options to create the recurring series as shown in Image 5.

Image 5

Notes:

  1. Shift Time Only: A series of empty shifts will be created so you can assign it to staff later.
  2. With Employees: The shift will be set to recur in the future with the current shift's staff assignment.

Step 6: Click ‘Set to Repeat!’ as shown in Image 6.

Image 6

Step 8: Click 'Save & Close' as shown in Image 7.

Image 7


That’s it, a recurring series will be generated.

Update Recurring Shift

Step 1: Go to your shift of interest and click to open the shift edit window as shown in Image 8.

Image 8

Step 2: Click on the existing shift parameters to update them as shown in Image 9.

Image 9

Note: We have updated 'Title', Start/End 'Time' and Notes, however, you can update any thing according to your business requirement from the following options as shown in Image 10.

Image 10

Step 3: Click 'Repeats' tab after editing the shift parameters and check the boxes next to the options for which changes are made under 'With' field as shown in Image 11.

Image 11

Step 4: Under the ‘Update’ field, select the way you want to update the shift as shown in Image 12 with the following options:

  1. All future shifts in this series.
  2. All Shifts in this series.
  3. This Shift back to the original

Image 12

Step 5: Click 'Update Series' tab as shown in Image 13.

Image 13

Step 6: Click 'Save & Close' as shown in Image 14.

Image 14

Delete Recurring Shift

Step 1: Go to your shift of interest and click to open the shift edit window as shown in Image 15.

Image 15

Step 2: Click 'Delete this Shift' tab as shown in Image 16.

Image 16

Step 3: If the shift is part of a series it will show you different options, choose the right option to delete the series as shown in Image 17.

Image 17

Step 4: Click ‘Delete’ and the series will be deleted from the schedule as shown in Image 18.

Image 18

Note: The assigned employee won’t be able to see the shift or be notified until you ‘Publish’ the shift individually or ‘Publish’ the schedule.
For more information about publishing the shift or schedule, go to ‘Publish Schedule.’

If you have any further queries, please don't hesitate to reach us at support@humanity.com. Happy Scheduling!

Did this answer your question?